Breaking Dawn

Stephenie Meyer's Breaking Dawn

Breaking Dawn is the fourth novel in the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer. It is the last novel of the Twilight series to be told from Bella Swan’s perspective. Divided into three “books”, or sections, the first and third sections are from Bella Swan’s perspective and the second section is from that of Jacob Black.

Breaking Dawn is split into three separate “books”, or parts. The first part details Bella’s marriage and honeymoon with Edward, which they spend on a private island off the coast of Brazil which Carlisle gave to Esme as a present. Edward grants Bella’s wish and has sex with her. Days later, Bella realizes that she is pregnant and that her condition is progressing at an unnaturally accelerated rate. After contacting Carlisle, who confirms her pregnancy, she and Edward immediately return home to Forks, Washington. Edward, concerned for Bella’s well-being and convinced that the fetus is a monster as it continues to develop with unnatural rapidity, urges her to have an abortion. However, Bella wants to keep the child and so she contacts Rosalie for support, knowing that Rosalie has always wanted children. Rosalie then helps Bella as a bodyguard, not letting anybody touch her if not necessary.

The second part of the novel is written from Jacob’s point-of-view, and lasts throughout Bella’s pregnancy and childbirth. The Quileute werewolf pack, not knowing what danger the unborn child may pose, make plans to destroy it, even though they must kill Bella to do so. Jacob vehemently protests this decision and leaves, forming his own pack with Leah and Seth Clearwater. Bella soon gives birth, but the baby breaks many of her bones and she loses massive amounts of blood. In order to save her life, Edward changes her into a vampire. Jacob, who was present for the birth, almost immediately “imprints”—an involuntary response in which a werewolf finds his soul mate—on Edward and Bella’s newborn daughter, Renesmee. Everyone soon finds out that Renesmee has a special ability too; she can convey messages using pictures she has seen or things she has done. Bella also has a rare ability: she can protect her and everyone around her using an invisible shield; this is why nobody can get inside her head.

The third section of Breaking Dawn shifts back to Bella’s perspective, finding her changed into a vampire and enjoying her new life and abilities.However, the vampire Irina misidentifies Renesmee as an “immortal child”, a child who has been turned into a vampire. Because “immortal children” are uncontrollable, creating them has been outlawed by the Volturi. After Irina presents her allegation to the Volturi, they plan to destroy Renesmee and the Cullens. In an attempt to save her, the Cullens gather vampires from around the world to stand as witnesses and prove to the Volturi that Renesmee is not an immortal child. Upon confronting the gathered Cullen allies and witnesses, the Volturi discover that they have been misinformed and immediately execute Irina for her mistake. However, they remain undecided on whether Renesmee should be viewed as a threat to vampires’ secret existence. At that time, Alice and Jasper, who had left prior to the confrontation, return with Nahuel, a 150-year-old vampire-human crossbreed like Renesmee. He demonstrates that the crossbreeds pose no threat, and the Volturi leave. Bella, Edward and Renesmee return to their home in peace. In their little cottage, Bella tries to lift her shield out of her so Edward can hear her thoughts. Though Edward wants to hear her, he cannot resist the temptation of kissing Bella.

Estadísticas Este artículo ha sido visitado  584  veces

Envía un comentario

Para demostrar que eres un usuario (no un script de spam), introduce la palabra de seguridad mostrada en la imagen.
Anti-Spam Image