Biblioteca Escolar “ROSARIO DE ACUÑA”

Proyecto Bibliotecas Escolares _ I.E.S. Rosario de Acuña. Gijón

Las Hermanas Brönte

Publicado por rosarioa.biblioteca el 7 Abril 2008

 The Brontë Sisters

The Brontë Sisters, Charlotte (1816-1855), Emily (1818-1848) and Anne (1820-1849) were English novelists whose works transcended the Victorian time and became classic.

They lived in the English society of the 19th century, in which the occupations of women were rather limited. This was the main problem of these anxious young sisters. They lived in a time that did not understand them, who were carried away by literature. Women did not have place in the intellectual world.

They were born in Yorkshire. Their father, Patrick Brönte, of Irish origin, was the rector of Haworth, a village placed in Yorkshire’s high plateaus. Since then the family felt tied to this place. When their mother died in 1824, Charlotte and Emily were sent by her older sisters, Maria and Elizabeth, to Clergy Daughters’s college, in Cowan Bridge. Maria and Elizabeth returned ill to Haworth and they died of tuberculosis in 1825. For this reason and for the terrible conditions of the college the family took Charlotte and Emily away from the boarding school. Charlotte Brönte was inspired by this college to describe the infamous Lowood College that appears in her novel Jane Eyre.

Charlotte Brontë (1816-1855)

Charlotte Brontë, was born in Thornton, in 1816, Her sisters Emily and Anne were also writers. She published under the pseudonym of Currer Bell. She worked as a teacher from 1835 and founded a school with her sisters Emily and Anne. She convinced them to publish together a poemario, which appeared in 1846 under their respective pseudonyms. Her first novel, “The Teacher”, was published after her death in 1857. “Jane Eyre” (1847) reached a great success and made her famous as a writer. She published two more novels, “Shirley” (1849) and “Villete” (1852), Lucy Snowe’s story. A fragment of “Emma” appeared after her death in 1860. She died in Haworth in 1855, at the age of 38.

Emily Brontë (1818-1848)

Emily Brontë was born in Thornton in 1818. She published under the pseudonym of Ellis Bell. She was the most sensitive and original of the three Brontë sisters. She wrote the most part of her poems in 1846 and she is considered one of best poets of the 19th century, and continues being admired by her originality, her poetry and her imaginative personal references. Her novel “Wuthering Heights” (1847), tells the story of a passionate love. It is considered one of the masterpieces of the narrative in English language. She died of tuberculosis in December 19th, 1848 in Haworth.

Anne Brontë (1820-1849)

Anne Brontë was born in 1820 in Thornton. She has always been considered the sister with the least talent of the three, but looking at their work, the talent of the sisters was similar. She wrote the poem “Domestic Peace” in Harword, in 1846. She published under the pseudonym of Acton Bell. She worked as a governess and she used that experience in her novel “Agnes Grey” (1847). Her second and last novel, “The lady of Wildfell Hall” was published in 1848. She died in 1849 at the age of 29.


Estadísticas Este artículo ha sido visitado  978  veces

Enviar un comentario

Debes estar autentificado para publicar un comentario.